[sailor moon cosmos] new trailer

the new voice actresses are spot on

I hate everything else with passion until further notice (aka the release)

so far all I see is 90s animation, + 90s music

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mana
    Jan 18, 2023 @ 03:52:02

    Feeling the very same. I’m still so disappointed that they kept the 90s animation direction/chara designer on. Not only does this look mediocre for a movie, but they still look younger than they did in Crystal. That’s so silly and backwards?

    And while Nagareboshi He is one of the few 90s songs I’m really attached to, I’m more worried that the sound direction is going to awkwardly modernize it? It’s interesting that it’s the only song that appears in the manga and Naoko herself created firsthand, but it’s never been on any of the anniversary CDs…? I feel like it’s been disrespected this whole time lol.

    Not hopeful for Cosmos, but I do notice the hardcore 90s fans have been silent. I guess they really got what they wanted. I just hope those of us that liked or didn’t mind Crystal get our 2.O down the line.

    I hope your knee is much better and you get time to write~.

    Like

    Reply

    • 星らぶ
      Jan 18, 2023 @ 08:38:24

      pretty much my thoughts
      they can make a different song with the same lyrics, that could be much better.
      I LOVE the 90s music I truly do, I think it’s the best music for anime of all time, the same way I love the VAs of the 90s
      clearly the two only things that actually made that mediocre script work.

      I think overall they will follow the manga for the most part, but I don’t know how much bs they will bring in from the 90s.

      I maintain very low expectations from what I’ve seen so far

      and of course the 90s thumbers are silent they got what they wanted
      I can’t wait for 99% of them to be up in arms when they find out the 3 lights are women, and Seiya is a lesbian.
      it;s going to be a blood bath, they will blame naoko, they will call it “woke” LOL

      oh an thank you so much for your good wishes. surgery had gone splendidly, and the post surgery period comes to an end soon. so all is well.

      Like

      Reply

      • Mana
        Jan 18, 2023 @ 12:28:22

        I wish they would. I’m at the point now where even the OST itself feels so generic, and I usually like the composer.
        Seriously! It’s so understated how much the 90s OST and seiyuu carried it.

        Hopefully not much, but they always try to bring in something to appease that crowd.

        Ohh, I forgot they don’t usually know! That’s going to be fun! Especially since so many of them just ship Usagi with Seiya without realizing that Seiya was in love with her own princess and was projecting a bit onto Usagi. It’s going to be fun times lol!

        That’s great to hear, I hope the rest of the post surgery will be smooth and as comfortable as possible.

        Like

        Reply

        • 星らぶ
          Jan 18, 2023 @ 12:31:40

          oh I think manga Seiya did have a crush on Usagi, but realized that it was one sided unlike the 90s seiya who was being weird about it.

          friday I get rid of the crutches, and start physical therapy, it is smooth, but comfortable not really hahahahah

          Like

          Reply

          • Mana
            Jan 18, 2023 @ 22:40:16

            I always thought her crush on Usagi was her trying to come to terms with her crush on Kakyuu and being unable to protect her, but having a separate crush on Usagi makes just as much sense. But I definitely feel like manga Seiya had the sense to realize it was one-sided, and was supportive instead of a weirdo about it lol. (It makes manga Seiya’s lines about princesses being protected feel more natural too, compared to that gross, pushy behavior in the 90s anime.)

            That’s fantastic, and that’s understandable, heh. Hang in there, fighting! Sending much comfort and well wishes your way!

            Like

            Reply

            • 星らぶ
              Jan 19, 2023 @ 09:34:16

              so we know that kakkyuu’s lover is dead, and could be another of her dead guardians, but just like with our guardians they are all in love with Usagi lol
              and usagi is in love with them lets face it ahahhah
              so it is almost certain that seiya has feelings for kakkyuu, but on top of that she developed feelings for Usagi too. which is cute and gay, especially since she understands that they are one sided. the 90s version is straight and stupid and seiya is being weird and creepy.

              thank you for your comfort 💚💙

              Like

              Reply

Thoughts?